Paper Towns by John Green – Book Review

That’s right friends, after an entire year of avoiding it I have finally finished Paper Towns by John Green. I actually started reading this book around 8-9 months ago and for some reason I put it down with 100 pages to go and didn’t pick it up again until a few days ago. I enjoyed this book for the most part, it was fast paced, fun and gave me a huge craving to go on a road trip, however, I wouldn’t say it’s one of my favourites. I’ve seen so much hype for this book what with the movie and everything but compared to John’s other books, it isn’t as great.  I found there were many parts throughout the book that were extremely slow and repetitive, especially when Q kept ditching his friends to go to the minimall alone, I felt like I was struggling to get through those parts. However there were of coarse many parts I enjoyed, I loved the characters and the dialogue, John Green has an amazing talent for creating relatable and interesting teenage characters, I found myself really wanting to be Margo Roth Spiegelman (she’s so cool). I guess it all comes down to personal preference, there are many people who see it as one of the greatest Young Adult Contemporaries they have ever read and there are others, like me, who think it is good, but not great. Either way I would never criticise anyone for their opinion. Over all Paper Towns by John Green was an easy, fun and adventurous read that I thoroughly enjoy, I’m really looking forward to watching the movie.

I give it 4 out of 5 stars

– Paige

Leave a Reply

